The Scorch Trials

From the back of the book:
7631105

The second book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Scorch Trials is a modern classic for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?

Ahhhhh, I wish I had the final book in front of me right now. When it said end of book 2 I almost screamed in frustration. I’m so frustrated for the Gladers and all they’re going through. This book was almost more frustrating for them than the first. Maybe because of the false sense of security they had at the beginning. They are dumped into a very run down and dirty city, where everything is in desperate need of appliance service. They’re running from the disease ridden people suffering from the Flare, and they’re discouraged.
I won’t go into details, because I definitely don’t want to spoil anything for readers. I will just say there are points in the book my heart just broke for Thomas. That poor guy has been through hell and back. Knowing he still has more to deal with in the final book…it’s just a wonder he doesn’t give up. That they all don’t just give up. I have so many questions, just like the characters in the book, and I can’t wait to read the Death Cure and hopefully have them all answered.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge