The Disreputable History of Frankie Landau-Banks Book Review

This was an interesting read. It’s about a girl who goes to an uppity boarding school, where there is a secret, “old boys” society. She finds a way to infiltrate the group, and get them to do her bidding unknowingly. I like that her character was extremely strong but I felt the ending was a bit incomplete. I would have liked to see Frankie happier, but it almost seemed like the message was that girls who take a stand against society will just get dumped. A bit depressing of an outlook!

The Beginner’s Goodbye by Anne Tyler

This book was so sad! A husband loses his wife in a freak accident, where a tree lands on their house. He spends months “seeing” her ghost, talking to her, and coming to terms with the fact that their marriage wasn’t all that happy. It’s sad because he realizes he can’t go back and change things. I guess the lesson of the book is to learn to move forward, and embrace the time you have with your loved ones. Also, to not be afraid to let yourself be taken care of, and not to push people away out of pride. I hugged my hubby extra tight after reading it!

Taking Time to Read

Last year I was able to read over 50 books! I am going to challenge myself this year to read 60. I love that our library has e books that I’m able to read on the Kindle. I’ve also been trying to read at least one book a day to little man. I want him to be as excited about reading as I am. Lately our family routine has been to finish dinner, and then turn on some classical music, curl up in our chairs and read. I love to think that one day, little man will sit in his own chair and curl up with a good book. Or he can read aloud to us! I am so excited to introduce him to my favorite old stories, like the Giver, and Harry Potter series.

Just Breathe by Susan Wiggs: book review

She thought she was ready to love her children. What she discovered, while giving birth and later holding the babies against her heart, was an emotion so intense that it burned a hole clean through her. Could the word love even begin to describe the feeling that swept over her? Could any word? She had expected a strong, intense bond, but nothing of this magnitude, this incredible protectiveness and tenderness that closed her completely in a grip of iron. Maternal love wasn’t all gentle sweetness. Instead, it was fierce and consuming, more a ace of nature than a feeling.

That quote, and so many more, made me fall in love with this book. It’s the first chick lit book I’ve read in a long time that felt real. The stepdaughter who isn’t perfect. The main character isn’t helpless or perfect, but instead quirky. She moves to her hometown and she falls in love. Meanwhile she discovers she’s pregnant with her self absorbed, cheating ex husband’s baby. A man who is more interested in playing PowerSports than being a parent. She rises to the challenge of being a single mom, and I loved following her through her journey.

The Joy of Reading

My baby is just now starting to show an interest in books. I cannot wait to introduce him to my favorites: the Bernstein Bears, Fraggles, and Dr. seus. Then when he gets older, Harry Potter, The Giver, and the Hardy Boys. It will be so fun watching him discover stories and characters, and experience the joy of reading. I hope he loves reading as much as I do!

Girls in White Dresses-Book Review

Girls in White Dresses, by Jennifer Close. 10047589I found this book to be very odd. It was a quick read, but the author jumped around from topic to topic, storyline to storyline. One minute she was talking about one of the characters being broke, and almost considering a free consultation bankruptcy to jumping to all the girls attending different weddings of their friends without so much as a segway. Then the book just abruptly ended, and I felt no sense of resolve. Each character seemed dissatisfied with her life and her relationship. It was a bit of a depressing look at women maturing, and never seeming satisfied with where they were in life. I don’t recommend it.

Marrying Daisy Bellamy-Book Review

Marrying Daisy Bellamy by Susan Wiggs:

I like a good sappy romance as much as the next girl, but this was just so painfully predictable. I skimmed through pages and endured the main characters thick headed-ness just to get to the end. I thought the author wasted the readers time with plot lines that weren’t relevant and a story as predictable as a lifetime movie.

I think the lesson I learned here is that sappy romance novels aren’t my thing, and I prefer the flavor of a young adult fiction much more!

Bones of Faerie by Janni Simner

bonesoffaerie

The war between humanity and Faerie devastated both sides. Or so 15-year-old Liza has been told. Nothing has been seen or heard from Faerie since, and Liza’s world bears the scars of its encounter with magic. Trees move with sinister intention, and the town Liza calls home is surrounded by a forest that threatens to harm all those who wander into it. Then Liza discovers she has the Faerie ability to see—into the past, into the future—and she has no choice but to flee her town. Liza’s quest will take her into Faerie and back again, and what she finds along the way may be the key to healing both worlds.

This was a big change from the sparkly, happy fairy books I’ve read before. In this series, fairies are evil, and magic is something to be feared. But that line of thinking doesn’t sit well with liza, who soon learns she has her own magic. I really liked the strength of the characters in this book, and the way they stand beside one another. I have so many questions, and hopefully some will be answered in the second book.

 

The Scorch Trials

From the back of the book:
7631105

The second book in the New York Times bestselling Maze Runner series—The Scorch Trials is a modern classic for fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

Solving the Maze was supposed to be the end. No more puzzles. No more variables. And no more running. Thomas was sure that escape meant he and the Gladers would get their lives back. But no one really knew what sort of life they were going back to.

In the Maze, life was easy. They had food, and shelter, and safety . . . until Teresa triggered the end. In the world outside the Maze, however, the end was triggered long ago.

Burned by sun flares and baked by a new, brutal climate, the earth is a wasteland. Government has disintegrated—and with it, order—and now Cranks, people covered in festering wounds and driven to murderous insanity by the infectious disease known as the Flare, roam the crumbling cities hunting for their next victim . . . and meal.

The Gladers are far from finished with running. Instead of freedom, they find themselves faced with another trial. They must cross the Scorch, the most burned-out section of the world, and arrive at a safe haven in two weeks. And WICKED has made sure to adjust the variables and stack the odds against them.

Thomas can only wonder—does he hold the secret of freedom somewhere in his mind? Or will he forever be at the mercy of WICKED?

Ahhhhh, I wish I had the final book in front of me right now. When it said end of book 2 I almost screamed in frustration. I’m so frustrated for the Gladers and all they’re going through. This book was almost more frustrating for them than the first. Maybe because of the false sense of security they had at the beginning. They are dumped into a very run down and dirty city, where everything is in desperate need of appliance service. They’re running from the disease ridden people suffering from the Flare, and they’re discouraged.
I won’t go into details, because I definitely don’t want to spoil anything for readers. I will just say there are points in the book my heart just broke for Thomas. That poor guy has been through hell and back. Knowing he still has more to deal with in the final book…it’s just a wonder he doesn’t give up. That they all don’t just give up. I have so many questions, just like the characters in the book, and I can’t wait to read the Death Cure and hopefully have them all answered.

Bet Me-Book Review

betme

Now this is romantic fluff that I can get behind. I just find Cruise’s dialogue refreshing and fun. I loved that the main characters Min and Cal were so playful with each other. Too often romantic books are so full of the cheesiness, and not the playfulness that happens in real relationships. Her description of donut eating had me driving to the donut shop early one morning with a serious craving!
I loved the group of friends that formed as the book progressed, and I found myself envious of their closeness. I’ve always wanted a close knit group like that. Sigh.
I did think that Cruise was a little harsh on skinny women, and the whole big girl thing was a tad overplayed. Nevertheless, I enjoyed this book and I will be looking for more by Cruise